The 5 Love Languages: How to Strengthen Your Relationships and Boost Your Mental Health

The 5 Love Languages: How to Strengthen Your Relationships and Boost Your Mental Health

Relationships play an important role in our mental health. According to the Mayo Clinic, forming strong friendships can boost self-esteem, lower stress, and help you cope during difficult times. Close relationships also encourage physical well-being. Studies show that people who have an active social life and meaningful relationships live longer on average than those who don’t.

Learning about the 5 love languages can help you build stronger relationships with your friends, romantic partners, and family members. The 5 Love Languages is a book by Dr. Gary Chapman, a marriage and family counsellor and public speaker. He came up with the theory after noticing patterns in the couples he counselled.

The five languages are ways that people give and receive love. By learning your friends’ love languages and your own, you can communicate more effectively and form closer bonds, which can benefit your relationships and mental well-being. Keep reading to learn about the different love languages and examples of how you can practice each one!

1. Words of affirmation

People who have this love language are deeply affected by the way their loved ones speak to them. They feel most loved when someone gives them compliments, encourages them, or simply says “I love you.” On the other hand, they find it difficult to deal with criticism or hurtful comments. If your friend has this love language, using positive and uplifting language can go a long way.

2. Receiving gifts

Do you feel most loved when someone gives you a thoughtful gift? If so, this might be your love language. The price of the gift might not matter to you, but the effort behind it does. If you have a friend with this love language, taking the time to choose sentimental or meaningful gifts is a great way to make them feel appreciated and strengthen your bond.

3. Quality time

If your love language is quality time, it’s important that your friends are attentive, and that you feel they’re listening to you and engaged in the conversation. It really bothers you when your loved ones check their phone or multitask when they’re spending time with you. To deepen your friendship with someone whose love language is quality time, ensure that you’re making lots of eye contact and get rid of any distractions when you’re hanging out!

4. Acts of service

Someone whose love language is acts of service feels most loved when you do something to help them. This could mean running an errand for them, offering your advice on a work project, or taking a task off their plate when they’re feeling overwhelmed.

5. Physical touch

Physical touch doesn’t only apply to romantic relationships! If your friend has this love language, hugging them often and simply being close to them can make them feel cared for. If your love language is physical touch, a warm embrace may make you feel more connected to someone than hearing them say “I love you.”

Are you curious about what your love language is? Click here to take the official Love Language Quiz yourself, and send it to your loved ones to learn more about how you can strengthen your relationships!


Recent Posts

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

The Stigma-Free Society is excited to connect with you and share our resources to provide valuable mental health and anti-stigma education.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Follow Us

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website